Inspiration from the oddest places

So I had this guy who sells background templates and stuff contact me this week. I have over the last few years been buying some of his stuff and been using it in our products. Its not that I can’t do it myself, but there are times when you just want to grab something off the rack so to speak and get going without the hassle of building it yourself.

So he contacts me, but his English is terrible, so I’m having a bit of a hard time understanding what he wants. At first I think he is complaining that I am not giving him credit in the products for the use of his design elemental. Well I tell him that nowhere in his products does it says to do this. When instructed by the artist in their product that they want credit given to them, I do so. Just have a look at any of our products and you can see this.

Nope, that’s not what he has a problem with. He says that I’m taking credit for his work. ????? WTF ?????

Seems on my products I often put, Layout, Deign and Art by Robert Hemminger. Often I also include, some artwork by XXXXXX (Who ever it is that I used some art from)

So he thinks that I am taking credit for his design elements when I do this. No I tell him, maybe your lack of English is getting in than way, and so I’m not going to get mad when you call be a plagiarist and a thief. When I say Layout, all I am referring to is the layout of the product, the placement of text blocks, etc. Design is the game design, writing, etc. Artwork is in reference to illustrations and drawings which I did. Nowhere in there have I taken credit for design elements used in the product. So basically quit calling a thief and credit whore.

Then I get to thinking, hay, I’m not going to buy this guy’s stuff anymore, that’s for sure. Then I get sort of mad and think hell I can do a better job in creating and marketing design elements anyway, so why not blow his little ass out for to start and work up a bunch of design elemental products and put them all on sell, real cheep. Offer a great value for a great price like all of our stuff.

As I was going g to take a little brake this week from game design anyways, this is perfect. So off I go, onto another project, working up ten or twenty publisher design aids. Should be fun.

2 Comments

  1. Anthony Inskeep said,

    February 24, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    If he sold you the background templates for the Battle Axe cards, you should have fired him a long time ago. Those things are memory hogs, and I still can’t get them to print. I’m having to cut and paste the text into Word, and it’s taking forever! I just want to play…

    • hemdog560 said,

      February 24, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Sounds like you have an older printer and it doesn’t have enough memory to handle the files. Here are a few possible fixes.

      Try printing only one or two pages at a time.

      If you have Acrobat, copy the file and then delete several of the pages, this will make the file size smaller. You will though have to then do this again and dump more pages until you get the file down to the size you need.

      Take the files to your local print shop / copy shop. They will print it up for you, but it might cost a few bucks.

      If none of those are possible drop me a line and we will figure something out, even if I have to print the pages up myself and mail them to ya.

      Rob


Leave a Reply

